2023 NFL playoff schedule, bracket: dates, times and TV for each round of the AFC and NFC playoffs


After a crazy season, the NFL playoffs are finally here and if you love rematches, then you’re sure to love what the NFL has in store for you in the wildcard round this weekend.

The six games in the first round will include a rematch of the regular season, scoring just the fifth time since the NFL-AFL merger in 1970 that the opening round will feature all rematches. Prior to this year, the last time this happened was in 2009.

While there will be some familiar faces this year – Hello, Tom Brady and Patrick Mahomes – there will also be three teams making the playoffs for the first time in several years with the Jaguars (2017), Giants (2016) and The Dolphins (2016) all make their first trip to the playoffs in at least five years.

As for Brady, he will actually be in an unfamiliar position this year. The NFL legend will lead the Buccaneers 8-9, who will enter the playoffs as the sixth team to enter the playoffs with a losing record. Brady’s first game will be against a Cowboys team against which he has never lost in his career (7-0).

And don’t forget, this postseason could also give us a twist: if the Bills and Chiefs end up meeting in the AFC Championship, then the game will be played at a neutral site. However, there is no guarantee that this game will take place as the defending AFC champions – the Cincinnati Bengals – might have something to say about it.

So when and where will everyone be playing in the playoffs?

Let’s dive into the playoff schedule and find out.

Super Wild Card Weekend

Saturday January 14

  • (7) Seahawks at (2) 49ers (-10), 4:30 p.m. ET (Fox). These two division rivals have faced each other twice this year and the 49ers defense has blocked the Seahawks each time. Back in Week 2, the Niners beat the Seahawks 27-7. San Francisco followed that up with a 21-13 win in Week 15. The only thing that could work in Seattle’s favor is the fact that rookie quarterbacks tend to struggle in the playoffs, going 9- 18 since 1983.
  • (5) Chargers at (4) Jaguars (+1.5), 8:15 p.m. ET (NBC). This is a rematch of one of the most surprising games of the year. Back in Week 3, the Jaguars destroyed the Chargers 38-10 on the road. Trevor Lawrence threw for three touchdowns on a day the Jags had 413 total rushing yards.

Sunday January 15

  • (7) Dolphins at (2) Bills (-10), 1 p.m. ET (CBS). These two teams split their season streak, with each side winning at home, but it’s worth bearing in mind that both games were decided by three points or less. The big question here revolves around who will start at quarterback for the Dolphins. Right now, Tua Tagovailoa (concussion) and Teddy Bridgewater (finger) are both banged up. If they can’t go, Skyler Thompson will start.
  • (6) Giants vs. (3) Vikings (-3), 4:30 p.m. ET (Fox). These two played one of the craziest games of the season on Christmas Eve in a game that wasn’t decided until Greg Joseph scored a 61-yard field goal on the final play. It will be the first Minnesota’s home playoff game since the Minneapolis Miracle in January 2018.
  • (6) Ravens vs. (3) Bengals (-6.5), 8:15 p.m. ET (NBC). It’s unclear whether Lamar Jackson (knee) will play on Sunday, but even if he does, it will mark his first action in six weeks if he is on the court. Jackson led the Ravens to a 19-17 win over the Bengals in Week 5, but the Bengals got their revenge with a 27-16 win in Week 18 to get a season series split.

Monday January 16

  • (5) Cowboys at (4) Buccaneers (+3), 8:15 p.m. ET (ABC/ESPN). If the Cowboys are going to make the divisional round, they’re going to have to do something they’ve never done: beat Tom Brady. The Cowboys are 0-7 all-time against the Buccaneers QB and that includes a loss in Week 1 where Tampa Bay beat Dallas 19-3.

divisional round

Saturday January 21 and Sunday January 22

The NFL will announce the divisional round schedule during the wild card round. Here are two things we definitely know about the Divisional Round: The Chiefs and Eagles will host a game, and the winner of the Cowboys-Buccaneers game will play on Sunday, January 22.

Championship Sunday

January 29

  • NFC Championship, 3:05 p.m. ET (Fox)
  • AFC Championship, 6:40 p.m. ET (CBS)

Super Bowl LVII

12 February

AFC Champion vs. NFC Champion at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, 6:30 p.m. ET (Fox)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *